

Contact: Eileen E. Denne, Eileen@arrx.org; (501) 372-5250

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

## ARKANSAS PHARMACISTS ASSOCIATION HONORS INDIVIDUALS WITH 2014 AWARDS

**FAYETTEVILLE, AR** (June 12, 2014) – The Arkansas Pharmacists Association (APA) with other sponsoring organizations, presented eight 2014 awards to deserving individuals on Thursday, June 12, during its 132nd Annual Convention held at The Chancellor Hotel in Fayetteville from June 12-14.

"We're proud of our award winners and their extraordinary contributions to the pharmacy profession, to their towns, businesses and to others through their work or public service. Arkansas pharmacists contribute their time and concern to their communities and professional associations whether they work in retail, community clinics or other practices," said APA Executive Vice President and CEO Mark Riley.

APA 2014 Award recipients include:

**2014 Pharmacist of the Year:** Michelle Crouse, Pharm.D., co-owner of five pharmacies: City Drug in Monticello, Eudora Drug Store in Eudora, Hunter's Pharmacy in Lake Village, Portland Drug in Portland and Baker Drug in Crossett. This award recognizes pharmacists for outstanding contributions to the profession and the advancement of pharmacy.

**2014 Distinguished Young Pharmacist of the Year**: Stephen Carroll, Pharm.D., MBA, Chief Operating Officer at AllCare Pharmacy in Arkadelphia. Award recipients must have graduated from pharmacy school less than 10 years ago and be active, involved and interested in the future of the profession.

**2014 Bowl of Hygeia Award**: Eric Shoffner, P.D., of Newport. The award, sponsored by the American Pharmacists Association Foundation and National Alliance of State Pharmacy Associations, with support from Boehringer-Ingelheim, was established to honor pharmacists who have contributed to the progress of their community through community service.

**2014** Innovative Pharmacy Practice Award: Marcus Costner, Pharm.D., Associate Director of Clinical Pharmacy and Residency Program Director for Veterans Healthcare System of the Ozarks in Fayetteville. This award was established by the APA in cooperation with the National Alliance of State Pharmacy Associations to recognize a pharmacist who has demonstrated a prominent spirit of innovation and entrepreneurship in the practice of pharmacy.

**2014 Cardinal Health Generation Rx Award:** Denise Robertson, P.D., Administrator for the Prescription Drug Monitoring Program at the Arkansas Department of Health. This award honors a pharmacist who has demonstrated outstanding commitment to raising awareness of the dangers of prescription drug abuse among the general public and among the pharmacy community.

**2014 Charles M. West Leadership Award**: Mr. Brandon Achor and Ms. Melanie Smith, third-year students at the UAMS College of Pharmacy, received a scholarship to support their leadership skills and contributions to the profession of pharmacy. Each has served in leadership roles and volunteered extensively for student pharmacy organizations during their three years at the College of Pharmacy.

**2014 Arkansas Pharmacy Foundation Award**: Ms. Abby Cooper Everett, third-year student at the Harding University College of Pharmacy, received a scholarship from the Arkansas Pharmacy Foundation to support her leadership skills and contributions to the profession of pharmacy. Everett is active as a volunteer in student associations and in Rho Chi Honor Society.

The Arkansas Pharmacists Association, founded in 1882, is the statewide professional association representing approximately 2,200 pharmacists in Arkansas. APA strives to further the professional advancement of pharmacists, advocate the value of pharmacy, and safeguard the health and well-being of every Arkansan. Its mission is to advance a professional and business environment for Arkansas pharmacists to be successful and fulfilled in serving patients.

###

417 South Victory Street, Little Rock, Arkansas 72201-2923 Phone: 501-372-5250, Fax: 501-372-0546

www.arrx.org